Immigration Blog

Avoid DOL blacklisted employers on job market!

By Bill at February 08, 2012 02:35
Filed Under:
No matter how desperate you are, you should always check following four lists before applying for a job or accepting an offer.
  1. Debarred/Disqualified Employers: individuals or corporations who have been disqualified from approval of petitions to participate in the nonimmigrant program.
  2. Willful Violator Employers: employers subject to random investigations by the Department of Labor for a period of up to five years.
  3. LCA Denied Employers: employers who had petitions denied in 2011
  4. LCA Withdrawn Employers: employers who withdrew petitions in 2011
You should certainly avoid willful violator employers. Though they still could file labor condition applications(LCA) for you, they must comply with additional attestations and are subject to random investigations. 

However, it is common for employers to have their labor certifications denied or withdrawn for various reasons. The employers will usually refile the petitions and then get approvals. It only becomes a red flag when large percentage of petitions have been denied. 

USCIS conducts more than 20,000 worksite visits every year. Check the blacklisted employers now, before the immigration agents give you a surprise. 

Add comment

(Will show your Gravatar icon)

  Country flag

  • Comment
  • Preview